2014 Texas Republican Assembly Endorsements

Posted · Add Comment

At its statewide endorsing convention in Fort Worth 2014, TXRA delegates from throughout the State made the following endorsements: Governor – Greg Abbott; Attorney General – Ken Paxton; Railroad Commissioner – Becky Berger; State Land Commissioner – David Watts.

Because a 67% majority is required to endorse, there were many races where that threshold was not reached. This doesn’t mean the delegates didn’t like the candidates – only that a sufficiently bright-line distinction did not appear to exist between the candidates.

In commenting on the race for Texas Lt. Governor, TXRA President Steve Hollern stated, “In my 39 years of Texas politics, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a high-level race like this with as strong, deep, and qualified group of conservative candidates.”

Leave a Reply